Searching for an iPhone 14 Pro Max screen replacement usually comes down to one decision: LCD or OLED, and at what price. E-Tech61 currently sells three genuine, in-stock options for this model: an In-Cell LCD assembly at £39.99, and two OLED assemblies at £84.99 and £144.99. The LCD is the cheapest way to restore full function after a crack or touch fault, but it cannot reproduce the true blacks of the original Super Retina XDR panel. The OLED options get closer to that original look and contrast, though neither listing currently states that True Tone, Always-On display or full 120Hz ProMotion behaviour is verified to work — so whichever grade you choose, budget for a fully working screen, not a guaranteed like-for-like match to the factory part. Prices and stock below were checked directly against the live E-Tech61 store on 21 September 2026.
This guide explains what Apple actually fitted to the iPhone 14 Pro Max, what changes with an aftermarket panel, and which E-Tech61 listing suits which repair — including an honest look at a pricing question this article will not paper over: why E-Tech61 currently lists two OLED options at very different prices with no stated technical difference between them.
Confirm You Have an iPhone 14 Pro Max — Not a 14 Plus
Check Settings > General > About on the handset itself; the Model Name field states "iPhone 14 Pro Max" directly, which is the fastest way to be certain before you order a part. Do not rely on screen size alone: the iPhone 14 Pro Max and the iPhone 14 Plus share the same 6.7-inch screen size, but they are different phones, and their screens are not interchangeable.
Two visual checks separate them in seconds. The 14 Pro Max has a Dynamic Island cut into the top of the display and a triple-lens rear camera block with a raised ring around each lens, plus a LiDAR scanner. The 14 Plus has a traditional notch at the top of the screen and a two-lens rear camera in a diagonal layout. If you see a notch instead of a pill-shaped cutout, you have a 14 Plus, and none of the parts in this guide are correct for your phone.
If you are ordering on behalf of someone else, or working from a description rather than the handset in front of you, ask for a photo of the top of the screen or the rear camera block rather than trusting the model name printed on a box or case, which is frequently wrong on second-hand devices. Carrier and region do not change which screen fits: every iPhone 14 Pro Max sold globally uses the same 6.7-inch Super Retina XDR panel and Dynamic Island cutout, so UK, US and EU units all take the same replacement assembly.
What Apple Originally Fitted vs What a Display Replacement Changes
Any display replacement for an iPhone starts with knowing what the factory originally fitted. Apple's own technical specifications for the iPhone 14 Pro Max describe a 6.7-inch (diagonal) Super Retina XDR display — OLED technology, 2796-by-1290-pixel resolution at 460 ppi, with a 2,000,000:1 typical contrast ratio. It supports ProMotion (adaptive refresh up to 120Hz), True Tone, Always-On display, wide colour (P3), and 1,000 nits typical brightness rising to 2,000 nits peak outdoors. It uses Haptic Touch, not 3D Touch — Apple's spec sheet does not mention 3D Touch anywhere, because Apple removed it from the iPhone lineup starting with the iPhone XR/XS generation and has used Haptic Touch, a vibration-based long-press gesture rather than a pressure-sensing display layer, on every model since. If you see "3D Touch Digitizer" in a product title for this phone anywhere, treat that as leftover template wording, not a real feature of your device.
The phrase "screen replacement" covers genuinely different technologies, and the difference matters more than the price tag suggests. OLED is self-emissive: each sub-pixel produces its own light and switches off completely for true black, which is what gives the factory panel its contrast ratio and lets Always-On display show a dimmed lock screen without lighting the whole panel. LCD, including "In-Cell" LCD where the touch-sensing layer is built into the LCD cell itself rather than laminated on top as a separate layer, still requires a constant backlight behind the liquid-crystal layer. It can be built thin and can render colours reasonably accurately, but it cannot switch individual pixels off, so blacks appear as dark grey rather than true black, and a backlit panel is not designed to support an Always-On-style always-lit low-power state the way an OLED panel is.
Neither aftermarket technology is automatically the wrong choice — a functional repair on a phone you use for calls, messages and apps does not need to match Apple's contrast ratio to be worth doing. But treating any iPhone screen replacement as automatically identical to the factory part is the most common expectation mismatch in this category, which is why this guide treats LCD and OLED as separate purchase decisions rather than a single generic spec.
In-Cell LCD vs OLED Replacement: Decision Table
Neither of E-Tech61's current iPhone 14 Pro Max OLED listings, nor the In-Cell LCD listing, states that True Tone, ProMotion or Always-On display is verified to work on that specific panel — so treat all three as "not confirmed" for those features rather than assuming factory-equivalent behaviour just because one option costs more.
| Factor | In-Cell LCD – £39.99 | OLED – £84.99 or £144.99 | Original factory display |
|---|---|---|---|
| Panel type | LCD, backlit, touch layer built into the LCD cell | OLED, self-emissive | Super Retina XDR OLED |
| Black levels | Dark grey, not true black | Closer to true black than LCD | True black, 2,000,000:1 contrast |
| True Tone / Always-On / 120Hz ProMotion | Not stated on the listing | Not stated on either listing | All three, standard |
| Brightness | Not published by the seller | Not published by the seller | 1,000 nits typical, 2,000 nits outdoor peak |
| Package contents | Screen and digitiser assembly only, no tools | Screen and digitiser assembly only, no tools | N/A |
| Price (checked 21 Sept 2026) | £39.99 | £84.99 or £144.99 — two listings, no stated difference | N/A |
| Best suited to | Budget functional repairs, resale-ready phones, cracked glass or digitiser faults | Buyers who want a look and contrast closer to the original panel and accept the extra cost isn't backed by a documented spec upgrade | Buyers who need every original feature guaranteed — consider Apple or an authorised provider |
E-Tech61 currently lists two OLED options for this model at a noticeably different price, and neither product description gives a technical reason for the gap — no stated "hard OLED" versus "soft OLED" split, no different brightness figures, nothing. If that difference matters to your decision, check the live listings yourself or ask E-Tech61 to confirm what separates them before you pay the higher price; this guide will not invent a justification it cannot verify.
When You Need a Full Display Assembly, Not Just Glass
All three screens covered in this guide are sold as complete screen-and-digitiser assemblies, not standalone outer glass. That matters because the correct part depends on what is actually damaged, not just on wanting to fix a screen quickly. A cracked or scratched outer layer with touch response that still works correctly, and no lines, discolouration or dead zones on the display, is sometimes repairable with glass-only or lamination services elsewhere — but based on the live E-Tech61 catalogue checked for this guide, none of the current iPhone 14 Pro Max listings offer that option; every one is a full assembly.
If the LCD/OLED panel itself is damaged — lines, black patches, discolouration, flickering, unresponsive touch zones, or the display not turning on at all after a drop — a full assembly is the correct part regardless of budget, because the panel and digitiser are fused together and cannot be repaired independently on this iPhone generation. Water damage complicates this further: if the phone was exposed to liquid and the display is now faulty, the underlying fault may sit in the display connector or logic board rather than the panel itself, and a new screen will not necessarily resolve it.
Before ordering, isolate the fault. If the touch digitiser responds normally and the image is clean but the outer glass is cracked, a full assembly is still typically the safer recommendation, because forcing a separation between the glass and the LCD/OLED layer underneath on a fused panel risks damaging the display you were trying to save.
E-Tech61's Current iPhone 14 Pro Max Screen Replacement Options
| Listing | Price | Stock | Technology | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple iPhone 14 Pro Max Replacement In-Cell LCD Screen – Premium Grade Display | £39.99 | 94 in stock | In-Cell LCD, screen + digitiser assembly | View the In-Cell LCD screen |
| For iPhone 14 Pro Max Premium OLED Screen | £144.99 | 99 in stock | OLED, screen + digitiser assembly | View this OLED screen |
| For Apple iPhone 14 Pro Max Replacement OLED Screen – Premium Display | £84.99 | 96 in stock | OLED, screen + digitiser assembly | View this OLED screen |
Prices, stock levels and descriptions above were checked directly against the live E-Tech61 store on 21 September 2026. All three ship as the screen and digitiser only — no opening tools, adhesive or screwdrivers are included with any of them — and all three list professional installation as recommended rather than required, with a 30-day return window provided the part is returned uninstalled and in the condition it was delivered.
You may also spot other iPhone 14 Pro Max LCD listings on E-Tech61's iPhone 14 Pro Max parts collection carrying "3D Touch Digitizer" in the title. As covered above, the iPhone 14 Pro Max does not have 3D Touch, so that wording is a labelling carryover rather than a genuine feature. Those listings are not recommended separately in this guide because they overlap closely with the In-Cell LCD assembly above rather than offering a distinct grade — we would rather point you to the clearly-specified listing than ask you to guess between near-identical titles.
What You May Lose or Need to Recalibrate After Fitting
Apple's own support documentation on genuine displays states that replacing an iPhone's screen with a non-Apple part can trigger a software message about the display's authenticity, and that features tied to display calibration — True Tone and automatic brightness among them — may not perform correctly with a non-genuine panel. This is a software-and-hardware pairing issue rather than a defect specific to any one seller, and it applies to aftermarket LCD and OLED panels alike unless a listing specifically states otherwise. None of E-Tech61's three current listings for this model make that claim, so budget for the possibility of a display-authenticity message and reduced True Tone or auto-brightness accuracy with any of them.
Face ID does not live in the screen assembly — it depends on the TrueDepth camera module at the top of the phone — so a straightforward screen swap should not disable Face ID by itself, provided the TrueDepth hardware and its original cable and bracket are handled carefully and reconnected exactly as removed. Damage to that connector or its shielding during a screen job is a common cause of Face ID failures that get wrongly blamed on the new screen afterwards.
Ambient light and proximity sensors, along with the earpiece speaker and front camera bracket, typically need to be transferred from your original screen to the new one on this iPhone generation unless a listing explicitly states they are pre-fitted. None of the three descriptions checked for this guide confirm sensor components are included, so plan to move them across carefully during the swap rather than assuming the replacement arrives complete.
DIY Fitting Risks, Testing Before Sealing and Tools You Will Need
Every listing featured in this guide arrives as the screen and digitiser only, with professional installation recommended and no tools in the box. If you plan to change the iPhone screen yourself, you will separately need heat — a heat gun or dedicated heating pad — to soften the factory adhesive, a suction cup and thin opening picks to lift the display without flexing it, a suitable precision screwdriver set for the pentalobe and Phillips screws underneath, and replacement adhesive strips to reseal the case afterwards, since the original adhesive cannot be reused.
The single highest-risk step is disconnecting and reconnecting the display flex cables, which are thin, easily torn, and sit close to the battery connector. Disconnect the battery before touching the display cables, and support the display fully when it is open rather than letting it hang by its cables.
Every listing in this guide states that professional installation is recommended, and E-Tech61's own returns terms make the reason for testing before sealing explicit: none of the three listings accept returns for damage caused during installation, and all three require the part to be returned uninstalled and in as-delivered condition to qualify for the 30-day window. Connect the new screen and test touch response across all four corners, colour rendering, earpiece audio and Face ID before applying adhesive or closing the case — a fault caught before final assembly is a straightforward fix; the same fault found after sealing usually is not.
Replacing an iPhone 14 Pro Max screen also breaks the factory water-resistance seal. Reapplying adhesive correctly restores some resistance, but none of E-Tech61's listings claim an IP rating for the repaired assembly, and a freshly repaired phone should not be treated as water-resistant to the original factory spec.
Parts Cost vs Professional Fitting: Which Should You Choose?
The only hard cost figures in this decision are the part prices themselves: £39.99 for the In-Cell LCD, and £84.99 or £144.99 for the two OLED listings, all checked live against the E-Tech61 store on 21 September 2026. A local repair shop or Apple's own service pricing will typically quote a single fitted price that bundles the part and labour together, and that combined figure is normally higher than the part-only cost above — but exact fitted prices vary by provider and change over time, and we could not verify a live current figure from Apple's own pricing tool while researching this guide, so treat any fitted quote you receive elsewhere as the number to compare, not a fixed figure printed here.
If you are confident you can change the iPhone screen yourself without damaging the flex cables, and you are working from the testing checklist above, buying the part directly is the cheaper route and the reason model-specific guides like this one exist. If you are not confident separating and reconnecting flex cables, or the phone needs to stay working throughout the repair, paying a technician for a fitted price removes that risk — at a premium that is worth getting a real local quote for before you decide.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the iPhone 14 Pro Max have 3D Touch?
No. Apple removed 3D Touch after the iPhone XS/XR generation and replaced it with Haptic Touch across every subsequent model, including the 14 Pro Max — confirmed directly on Apple's current technical specifications for this phone, which list Haptic Touch and do not mention 3D Touch. If you see "3D Touch Digitizer" in a product title for an iPhone 14 Pro Max screen anywhere, treat it as a labelling error rather than a real feature.
Will an aftermarket OLED screen give me True Tone, Always-On display and 120Hz ProMotion?
Not necessarily, and neither of E-Tech61's current OLED listings for this model states that any of these three features is verified to work. Aftermarket panels can trigger Apple's non-genuine display message, which is specifically tied to True Tone and auto-brightness accuracy. Treat OLED as a step closer to the original look and contrast, not a guaranteed feature match, unless a specific listing states otherwise.
What is the actual difference between E-Tech61's two OLED listings?
Based on the live product descriptions, neither states a technical grade difference — no hard/soft OLED distinction, no different brightness or feature claims. The only confirmed difference is price (£84.99 vs £144.99) and stock level. If that gap matters to your decision, confirm with E-Tech61 directly before ordering the more expensive listing.
Can I use an iPhone 14 Plus screen on my 14 Pro Max, or vice versa?
No. They share the same 6.7-inch screen size, but the 14 Pro Max has a Dynamic Island cutout and a different camera and sensor housing cut into the panel, while the 14 Plus has a notch. The screens are shaped differently and are not interchangeable.
Do I need to transfer any parts from my old screen to the new one?
Likely yes for the ambient light sensor, proximity sensor, earpiece speaker and front camera bracket, since none of the three listings in this guide confirm those components are pre-fitted. Face ID's TrueDepth hardware stays with the phone rather than the screen, so it should survive a careful swap without needing transfer, provided its connector is handled carefully.
Is the £39.99 In-Cell LCD good enough, or should I pay more for OLED?
For a functional repair — restoring a cracked or unresponsive screen to full working order — the In-Cell LCD is a genuine, complete assembly at a lower price point. Choose OLED instead if matching the original panel's contrast and black levels matters more to you than the price gap, while accepting that neither OLED listing currently confirms full feature parity with the factory display.
What happens if I damage the screen while fitting it myself?
E-Tech61's stated 30-day return policy for all three listings excludes damage caused during installation, and requires the part to be returned uninstalled. Test the new screen fully — touch response, colour, earpiece, Face ID — before sealing the case, since a fault found before final assembly is recoverable and a fault found after is usually not covered by the return window.
Ready to Order
Confirm you have an iPhone 14 Pro Max by checking Settings > General > About, decide honestly whether LCD or OLED fits your budget and expectations, and order your iPhone 14 Pro Max screen replacement directly from E-Tech61: the In-Cell LCD screen at £39.99, or one of the two OLED options at £84.99 or £144.99 — all checked live and in stock as of 21 September 2026. Every listing ships as a screen-and-digitiser assembly only, so gather opening tools and adhesive separately, and test the new display fully before you seal the case.

Share:
iPhone 12 Battery Replacement UK: Mini, 12, Pro & Pro Max Guide